Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

Web Counters
Website Visitors
January 1, 2016
Visitors Today
Oct 04, 2022
CCVRS Virtual Awards Ceremony
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Secretary Sharon Garner
January 9, 2021

This past Saturday, the CCVRS family came together to celebrate the accomplishments of our members. Our annual banquet is usually held in August each year, with special guests, dinner, administration of the oath of office to incoming officers and awards presentations to well-deserving members.

This year, much like everything else, was different - thanks to COVID-19. We gathered virtually instead of in person. As President Jeff Garner said, "We may be physically apart, but we are still together. It is important to acknowledge those who went above and beyond, and we also feel it is important to stay connected."

During Chief Robert Ansell's Year in Review, he noted that "throughout sickness, chaos, and uncertainty, the members of CCVRS never waivered in their service and dedication to excellence. In 2020, CCVRS responded to 3,113 calls and maintained a high success rate even while affected with staffing shortages, state lockdowns, and changes in personnel scheduling for social distancing." He added that while we have all been "6 feet apart" since early 2020, the 51 family has never shined brighter in its 68 years of existence.

Please join us in congratulating the following members:

COVID Service Awards - Operational
Robert Ansell
Ben Bates
Quincy Cobey
Courtney Edelen
Denise Edelen
Shanetta Harley
Jenny Mott

COVID Service Awards - Administrative
Dr. Laura Behm
Christy Coffey
Sharon Garner
Bobby Simpson
Sandy Willett

Honor Roll Awards:
Jenny Mott
Sharon Garner
Christy Coffey
Denise Edelen
Phyllis Viars
Dr. Laura Behm

Shining Star Awards:
Bobby Lytton
Brandon Garner

Susan M. Spalding President's Award: Bobby Simpson

Top Drivers:
Shanetta Harley 303
Denise Edelen 192
Ben Bates 89
David Murphy 70
Kaleigh Moore 67

Top OIC:
Ben Bates 358
Quincy Cobey 273
Heather Edelen 63
Courtney Edelen 49
Robert Ansell 38

Total Calls:
Ben Bates 487
Shanetta Harley 422
Quincy Cobey 308
Denise Edelen 232
Heather Edelen 130
Kaleigh Moore 128
Courtney Edelen 95
Robert Ansell 94
Daniel Bier 88
David Murphy 82

Most Aspiring New Member: Gabby Deen
Helper of the Year: Alex Lohmann
Aide Person of the Year: Courtney Edelen
Victor B. Bowling Squadsperson of the Year: Ben Bates
Susan L. Grote Mentor of the Year: Quincy Cobey
Driver of the Year: Shanetta Harley
William Gaither Chief's Award: Jenny Mott
Meritorious Service Awards: Denise Edelen, Heather Edelen, Doria Fleisher and Kaleigh Moore

EMS Member of the Year: Denise Edelen

Life Membership: Darin Behm and David Murphy

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Charles County Volunteer Rescue Squad
2 Calvert Street
La Plata, MD 20646
Emergency Dial 911
Station 51: (301) 934-4434
Station 51 Fax: (301) 934-4108
Copyright © 2022 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)