Operational Leadership

Benjamin Bates - EMS Chief

Chief Benjamin Bates joined the Charles County Volunteer Rescue Squad in 2009 and is a Life Member. He previously held the operational positions of Captain and Assistant Chief.  

Shanetta Harley – Assistant EMS Chief

Courtney Edelen – Lieutenant

Alec Bertelli – Lieutenant

Soscha Henry – Sergeant

Denise Edelen – Engineer

Amanda Glover – QA/QI

Quincy Cobey – Safety Officer

Administrative Leadership

Jeff Garner - President

President Jeff Garner joined the Charles County Volunteer Rescue Squad in 1998 and is a Life Member. President Garner has held numerous positions throughout his tenure, including Lieutenant, Vice President, and President. 

President Garner resides in and works full time for the Town of La Plata as the Director of Public Works. His family, Sharon (wife) and Brandon (son), are also very proud members of Station 51.


Heather Edelen – Vice President

Sharon Garner – Secretary

Sandy Willett – Treasurer

Darin Behm – Board Member
Dale Hupp – Board Member
Bobby Simpson – Board Member
Rob Dobry – Board Member

Rev. BR Winkler – Chaplain

Allen Hayden – Building Engineer

Jason Posey – Quartermaster

Volunteer Today!

The Charles County Volunteer Rescue Squad is always looking for qualified and motivated individuals to join our ranks. There are numerous benefits to becoming a volunteer here at Station 51, including but not limited to:

  • All training provided free of charge
  • College tuition reimbursement program
  • Maryland State tax deduction
  • LOSAP Retirement Program